Your browser is out-of-date.

In order to have a more interesting navigation, we suggest upgrading your browser, clicking in one of the following links.
All browsers are free and easy to install.

  • in vitruvius
    • in magazines
    • in journal
  • \/





Projected by three organizations, the prize winner building -Harpa Concert Hall and Conference Centre- is responsible for revitalizing Reykjavike's harbour area and bringing the city closer to the Icelandic district.

Architecture offices Henning Larsen Architects, Batteríið Architects and Studio Olafur Eliasson were responsible for project Harpa, winner of the 2013 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture- Mies van der Rohe Award, for Conference Centre project, located in the harbour area of Icelandic Capital Reykjavik.In interview, Peer Teglard Jeppsen, from Henning Larsen Architects, stated on behalf of all participants in the project to be thrilled with the award. "Harpa is the result of collaborative process that has involved many people and with their efforts and drive Harpa has become a symbol of Iceland's renewed dynamism". Chair of the Jury, Wiel Arets, said "Harpa has captured the myth of a nation that has conciously acted in favour of a hybrid-cultural building during the middle of the on-going Great Recession", and adds "this project is an important message to the world and to the Icelandic people, fulfilling their long expected dream".

Among previous winners are projects like the Neues Museum, in Berlin, by David Chipperfiel in collaboration with Julian Harrap; the Netherlands Embassy Berlin, by Kem Koolhaas and Ellen Van Loon; and the Bibliothèque Nationale de France, in Paris, By Dominique Perrault. 

The ‘Emerging Architect Special Mention' award goes to María Langarita and Víctor Navarro for the Nave de Música Matadero, in Madrid, Spain. To see the winner project, special mention and finalists, check out the videos and interviews at European Union Prize's website, in English. 

about the prize

Established in 1987 and co-founded by EU Cultural Programme and Funcació Mies van der Rohe, the prize is considered to be the most prestigious in European architecture. Works evaluated in the editions- that take place every second year- are related to projects made within two years prior to the prize's edition. Winner projects are rewarded with the sum of €60.000. The official website brings winners of prior editions, as well as special mentions and finalists.

<br />Photo by Nic Lehoux

Photo by Nic Lehoux

<br />Photo by Nic Lehoux

Photo by Nic Lehoux

Mies van der Rohe Award 2013 grants prize to Icelandic project

Fundació Miles Van der Rohe
Barcelona Spain/Brussels Belgium


© 2000–2021 Vitruvius
All rights reserved

The sources are always responsible for the accuracy of the information provided