Your browser is out-of-date.

In order to have a more interesting navigation, we suggest upgrading your browser, clicking in one of the following links.
All browsers are free and easy to install.

  • in vitruvius
    • in magazines
    • in journal
  • \/





Chicago — Tom Pritzker, president of the Hyatt Foundation, announced today that Barcelona-based architect Benedetta Tagliabue has joined the jury of The Pritzker Architecture Prize

Mr. Pritzker said, “We are very pleased to welcome Benedetta Tagliabue to the jury. She brings new perspectives and a deep and international knowledge of the best in architecture today.” From her studio in Barcelona, Tagliabue said, “The Pritzker Prize has become the award that points out the most important directions in architecture. For more than 35 years, quality in architecture at all scales and regardless of firm size has been the outstanding value of the prize. I feel incredibly honored to be part of the jury and I am looking forward to sharing ideas and beautiful moments with my colleagues.” From London, the chair of the jury, Lord Peter Palumbo, stated, “I am delighted that Benedetta Tagliabue has agreed to join the jury of The Pritzker Architecture Prize. Her distinction as an architect and her deep knowledge of the history of architecture will be invaluable to the deliberations of the jury.” 

Benedetta Tagliabue becomes the current ninth member of the jury of The Pritzker Architecture Prize, joining: Lord Peter Palumbo (chair), Alejandro Aravena, Stephen Breyer, Yung Ho Chang, Kristin Feireiss, Glenn Murcutt, Juhani Pallasmaa and Ratan N. Tata. The executive director is Martha Thorne. 

Jury members serve for multiple years to assure a balance between current and new members and are entrusted with selecting the laureate each year. No outside observers or members of the Pritzker family are present during jury deliberations and voting. The international jury members are recognized professionals in their own fi elds of architecture, business, education, publishing, and culture. 

The Pritzker Architecture Prize honors a living architect or architects whose built work demonstrates a combination of those qualities of talent, vision, and commitment, which has produced consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture. 

The Pritzker family of Chicago established the international prize through their Hyatt Foundation in 1979. The Hyatt Foundation sponsors the prize which is granted annually. It is often referred to as “architecture’s highest honor.” The award consists of US $100,000 and a bronze medallion, conferred on the laureate at a ceremony held each year at a different site throughout the world. 

The 2015 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate is scheduled to be announced in March 2015.

<br />Foto Divugação

Foto Divugação

The Pritzker Architecture Prize Welcomes Benedetta Tagliabue to the Jury

Miralles Tagliabue EMBT
Barcelona, Spain


© 2000–2024 Vitruvius
All rights reserved

The sources are always responsible for the accuracy of the information provided